2018 MTBA National Downhill Championships

Troy Brosnan (SA) and Tracey Hannah (QLD) returned to the top of the Australian downhill stage taking out the elite men’s and women’s titles at 2018 MTBA Downhill National Championships in Bright, Victoria on Sunday.

It was a heart in the mouth moment for Brosnan, who was first down the track in the elites and laid down a 3:46:78, before last year’s champion Jack Moir (NSW) went 0.09 within knocking the South Australian from top of the podium.

“Having Jack come down so close was very nerve wracking and I’m super stoked to get the win.”

“I was little disappointed last year losing the sleeve but getting it back this year is amazing,” the five time national champion commented moments after the finish.

Jackson Frew (NSW) put in a super run to take his first ever elite men’s medal, with Michael Hannah (QLD) fourth and Dean Lucas (VIC) in third after he crashed mid-way in his run snapping off the seat post.

In the women, all attention was turned towards Hannah who was chasing her own slice of history to become the first Australian female to win 10 downhill titles.

The Cairns rider smashed her way down the course to produce an unbeatable time of 4:37:78.

“It’s super cool, it’s always awesome racing in Australia, just being able to take that flag back overseas and race with the top riders in the world is pretty special to me – so yeah, I’m stoked.”

The world number two was more than 16 seconds in front of Tegan Molloy (NSW) who was racing at her first national championships in two years with Sian A’Hern (NSW) in third.

There were more celebrations for the Canyon Factory Racing Team after Kye A’Hern (NSW) took out the national jersey in his first year in the junior men ahead of local Aaron Gungl (VIC) and Matt Carter (VIC).

For the junior women Ellie Smith (NSW) retained her title with a powerful display of riding to force Sally Potter (NSW) into the silver medal positions.

Full results can be found HERE

(Article re-published from MTBA website)

2018 Victorian Interschools Cycling Series

Dates for the 2018 Victorian Interschools Cycling Series have been released.

Sunday 24 June: East – Dromana Secondary College
Sunday TBC July: Metro – Lysterfield Park
Sunday 19 August: West – You Yangs
Saturday 20 October: State Final – Bendigo State Final Festival

This year the state final heads to Bendigo as part of the VICS State Final Festival, co-hosted by the Bendigo MTB Club. For the three zone events, our friends at Red Hill Riders, Geelong MTB, and Dirt Riders will return to put on more fantastic events at Dromana Secondary College, You Yangs and Lysterfield Park.

Head to the 2018 Victorian Interschools Cycling Series webpage for more information.